Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Japanese language scripts

The Japanese language uses two syllabic scripts; hiragana and katakana. These are known as kana and are modified Chinese characters. Kanji is also used. Kanji are adopted logographic Chinese characters. The Latin script alphabet is also used. Using the Latin script alphabet to write Japanese is called romaji in Japan. Romaji is used for non Japanese speakers who can't read kanji or the kana scripts hiragana and katakana. It is used in dictionaries and textbooks and other places. It is also used to input text into computers.

No comments: